top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrendan Quinlan

I am a concept artist, Let's make some magic happen!




Now isn’t that a profound title?


This, in fact, is a kind of sequel to a blog post that predated this one back in February 2022.


That blog was written from a place of unsureness. My contract with ACEL had just ended. I wanted to enter the games industry, but I didn’t know where to start my dream as a concept artist. Back then, I wasn’t sure I was ready. As I was writing it, I was trying to piece everything together. I even included a job description and compared it to my resume. I had no idea about the lessons I was about to learn or the trials that would drive me to pursue my dreams.


"At the end of the day, if you want something bad enough, you will fight for it! I had to fight my way through university. I’m confident I can do it again."

- Blog post: "Can I be a concept artist?" Brendan Quinlan, 2022


After giving it, some thought, I realise that I am in the same position as before, and yet I am not. I am currently seeking employment, and I am able to do so confidently due to my background as a Designer and concept artist. I used to append it to the end of my logo permanently. with the dream of landing a job there someday. Can I say with certainty that I don't feel as uncertain as I did before? All right, but aren't we all in that boat? My doubts have nothing to do with whether or not I have the skills necessary to do the task at hand. In and of itself, I am enamoured with and enthusiastic about the process. My uncertainty stems from the worry that I will be out of work for a very long time. Comparable to PTSD due to lockdowns and being recently graduated with little prospects for employment.

Years later, I can say I’ve worked and gained experience. I just want my dream of being a concept artist to continue. I don't think I care where I end up, whether it's in films or games at this point. Even though I would like to work in games, Games are, after all, my passion.


After all this time, my enthusiasm and dedication to the concept artist profession are as strong as ever. I've been fortunate to be a part of some truly incredible endeavours and adventures. That's all the info I require to proceed. I'm qualified because of my background and training. The next step is to actively seek out promising possibilities. I know that if I put in the time and effort, I will get the career I want and be able to make my dream a reality.


What separates me from others in the same field?


Funnily enough, I am just another metaphorical "mercenary." Looking for my next gig in a competitive and cutthroat space. No different from my background in design but instead of calling ourselves "Guns for Hire," it’s a designer. which is very much a general term, kind of like calling yourself an engineer when there are so many different forms of that. Design is no exception. Back when I went into design after fighting my way into university, I realised I would be able to become a concept artist through what I was doing; it just wasn’t always obvious how I would do this. My Bachelor of Design (Visual Communications) didn’t just cover graphic design; it focused on all aspects of design so that we could choose what to pursue. The result of learning all aspects was a skill that we all developed. Design Thinking and the Design Eye


What is the difference between design thinking and design eye?


Before you go forward, Yes, it is a real thing. In some ways, I think of it as a way to not only view things but also to have an interesting way of seeing the world, similar to philosophy. But what is design thinking? It can be defined as a "user-centred" approach to problem-solving and innovation. It focuses on understanding users’ needs, exploring possibilities, and prototyping solutions to create new products, services, and experiences. Design thinking combines creative and critical thinking to explore opportunities and come up with innovative solutions. "The design eye," commonly known as "the eye for design," is a phrase used to describe an individual's natural ability to create aesthetically pleasing designs. It combines creativity, visual acuity, and a keen sense of what looks good. An eye for design is not something that can be taught but is a talent that can be honed and developed with practice.


In saying this, I have noticed this interesting aspect that designers don’t often speak about. This is an interesting concept about design thinking: anything is possible. It's as if there are no boundaries. an idea that anything can be achieved, whether through a hack, a cheat, or an easier process of using a program. Every designer has tricks they use to trick the eye and, with pure creativity, make something functional in a problem-solving way. Design thinking is powerful creative problem-solving that, when learned, feels like forbidden knowledge.


I think the combination of my design thinking, my design eye, and my experience as a concept artist is what makes me different from other people in the same field. I'm able to think outside the box and come up with creative solutions to any design problem I'm presented with. My passion for the craft and my experience gives me the confidence to take on any design challenge. I'm able to think creatively and come up with solutions quickly, and I'm always eager to learn new techniques and tools to stay on the cutting edge of design.


How can this design thinking be applied to concept art?


Design thinking can be applied to concept art by allowing the artist to think creatively and holistically about their project. The artist should consider how their concept art will be used, what its purpose is, and how it can be used to communicate a message or idea. The artist should also consider how the concept art can interact with its environment, what materials will be used to create it, and how it will be presented. Additionally, the artist should continually evaluate their concept art throughout the process to ensure that it is meeting the objectives of the project. Design thinking encourages the artist to think beyond the initial concept and to be open to new ideas. The artist should ask questions such as, "How can I make this concept art unique and memorable?" or "What elements can I add to this concept to make it more engaging?" By exploring possibilities and different approaches, the artist can end up with concept art that is both visually appealing and meaningful. Additionally, the artist should use feedback from viewers to refine and improve the concept art. Finally, the artist should use their design thinking skills to look for ways to optimise their concept art and make it truly stand out.


So, Is that all I can do?


No, of course not. I have the ability not only in Illustration and graphic design. I have a keen sense of adaptability, due to all the different aspects of design. I also have a reputation when doing freelance design, “Being quick and effective”. I also have a lot of other hidden talents and quirks you just must have a chat with me to find out. I generally love being creative.


What made you want to become a concept artist?


Well, it wasn’t an easy path to find that. I always loved to draw and be creative. Originally, I wanted to be a game designer when I worked on game projects for assignments at school and university. I enjoyed both the creative process, the art and even the leadership role involved in it as well.


It came from a love of watching the making of movies and games and seeing people discuss drawings and models around tables. I can say Disney has been a key part of my development, as have Naughty Dog’s Jak and Daxter. I also recall the creation of Sphinx and the Cursed Mummy, as well as the documentary series centred on Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith, the concept of General Grievous.




The series Assassin's Creed, the infinite possibilities of where it can go, and my love and obsession with creating new Assassins and different historical settings solidified it from the age of 13. I still love doing this; I’ve even got a whole trilogy planned out with Settings characters and DLCs. I know I'd love to make these a reality one day.


I can thank my friend and family friend, Melanie Wickham (currently at Preymaker, formerly at The Mill and Animal Logic). Mel was working at Animal Logic at the time as a producer, and I recall her talking about the film Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga'Hoole. I remember being shy and nervous to ask her about concept artists, which I was interested in pursuing. I was 16 at this point and was worrying about a creative writing assignment I needed to finish for English class, which so happened to be glorified Assassin’s Creed fan fiction in an Australian setting with the Rum Rebellion backdrop. I was writing it on my iPad there, in fact. So, teenage Brendan probably came across as a bit of a shy but hardworking person. Mel was kind enough to talk about the work concept artists do and how she works with them. My parents even thought it was interesting. I never knew this would be a monumental moment that I still look back on with such fondness. Melanie would not only serve as a mentor and an inspiration to me. She gave me an opportunity to intern at the mill in NYC. I also need to thank the amazing Cat Gulácsy, who was the U.S. Outreach and Talent Manager at the Mill at the time. I know she has been a very busy bee since, and because of that, we have lost touch a bit. She helped me line up for an internship.


This path hasn’t all been positive; I’ve had my fair share of negativity and heartbreak along the way, whether it’s a terrible university tutor saying, "I would never make it in the industry,” terrible career advisors or your parents not understanding and wanting you to be more practical. My career path in COVID and the pandemic hasn't been without bumps. I at least admit that. We will always have resistance when it comes to dreams. I believe the universe has ways of trying to push us, even if they can come across as cruel.


To conclude this section, becoming a concept artist can be a great way to combine your passions for art, storytelling, and design. It’s a profession that allows you to be creative while also developing your technical skills as an artist. As a concept artist, you’ll be able to work on a wide range of projects, from film and video games to advertising, and you’ll have the opportunity to work with a variety of clients. Additionally, concept art is a rapidly growing field, and with the right training and experience, you can find yourself working on some of the most exciting projects in the industry.


Do I have a portfolio?


I do indeed, yes, the website you are reading this blog on is technically my portfolio however I’ve moved of my concept art-related work to art station to present it more professionally.

Here’s a link if you are interested.



I thought I would end this blog on a funny note. Back at my first job out of high school, I would be called two names that were quite funny ways to describe the way I am. "You're like a young Albus Dumbledore," and my personal favourite after surprising my colleagues with an unexpected karaoke performance, "You're like a young Patrick Swayze." What is the significance of this revenant? I believe that even though we are professionals, it's good to know that I don’t take things entirely to heart. After all, I am technically a Ravenclaw. So I value learning, being professional, and being organized; simply put, I love what I do. The significance of this revenant is to remind us to not take ourselves too seriously, even in professional settings. It is important to be organized, be professional, and to learn and grow, but it is also important to take a step back and remember to have a bit of fun and enjoy the moment. By embracing the occasional silly moment or joke, it can bring levity and create a more enjoyable work environment.

I am a concept artist, so Let’s work some Magic!




27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page