top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrendan Quinlan

Beyond the Buzzwords: Why I write my Blog.



"Your blog is your unedited version of yourself." - Lorelle VanFossen.


This quote highlights the personal nature of blogging and how it allows you to express yourself in a way that is unique to you. Blogging gives you the freedom to share your thoughts, experiences, and opinions with the world in a way that is authentic and unfiltered. It's a powerful tool for self-expression and connection.


So, I’ve been blogging for the best bit of 2 years now. I’m at the stage where can I introduce myself as a blogger. Is that a good LinkedIn title?


Graphic Designer, Concept Artist and Blogger.


Nah sounds very early 2000s.


Is that a bad thing though? I grew up in the late 90s and 2000s. I saw the turn of the century. I saw technology develop as I got older.


I am a millennial after all.


I heard some people shutter when I wrote those words. I can’t help but laugh at that a little.

Why are people afraid of the term Millennial and what does that even mean?

I can say that googling the years of when a Millennial is not consistent I believe it's between 1980 and 1997. That’s my demographic. I was born in 1996. People born between 1998 and 1999 are Zellennials on the cusp of Gen Z, and 2000–2012 are Gen Z. Then it goes to Gen Alpha, and so on.

The facts are facts and why are people afraid of the term Millennial?


The word "millennial" is often associated with negative stereotypes, such as entitlement, laziness, and a lack of work ethic. These stereotypes are often perpetuated by the media and can be frustrating for those who don't fit into these narrow categories. Additionally, the term "millennial" is often used to describe a large and diverse group of people, which can make it difficult to accurately capture the experiences and perspectives of individuals within this group. This can lead to misunderstandings and frustration for both millennials and those who interact with them.


But is this accurate to the Millennial experience?


In honesty, No. they are not accurate and do not reflect the reality of this diverse group of people. Millennials are a generation that has grown up with rapid technological advancements and cultural changes, which have shaped their experiences and perspectives. While there may be some individuals who fit into the negative stereotypes associated with millennials, it is important to recognize that these stereotypes are not representative of the entire generation. It is unfair to make sweeping generalizations about an entire group of people based on a few negative examples.


“Never judge a book by its cover” as I was taught since I was a child. You know who taught me that. My Nan, Vivian Geraldine Quinlan (Solomon) worked in a bookshop so I can imagine she is the best to talk all about that.


Let's also remember that even in older generations there were stereotypes pushed on them as well. There have been stereotypes about generations in older generations, just as there are stereotypes about millennials today. For example, the "Baby Boomer" generation (born between 1946 and 1964) was often stereotyped as being rebellious and countercultural, while the "Generation X" (born between 1965 and 1980) was often stereotyped as being cynical and disaffected. These stereotypes can be harmful and unfair, as they do not accurately reflect the experiences and perspectives of every individual within these generations. It is important to recognize the diversity within each generation and to avoid making sweeping generalizations based on age or other demographic factors.


At the end of the day, we are the experiences that have shaped us and the stories we tell ourselves.


“What is a man but the sum of his memories? We are the stories we live! The tales we tell ourselves!” – Clay Kaczmarek (Subject 16), Assassin’s Creed: Revelations.


I subconsciously slipped in an Assassin’s Creed quote. How fitting.


This goes right back to the point of all this: why do I blog in the first place?


I started by writing an article about the themes of Delay in my life. I looked at it as I always tend to think about and reflect deeply on things, and in a way, it allowed me to remember that I have been through a lot and have done very well for myself and should be proud of the steps I have taken. This made me realise that writing these articles could be very good for me.

It wouldn’t be if I decided to start up the blog on my website and transfer it all from LinkedIn. I held onto all the nice comments on my first few articles.


Others who had read the blog would have read the times and things that have happened to justify the blog and to fight for it. After all, Blogging was part of me mentally processing things, and as I said, it was for my own sanity.


There was a stage when I did think I was overly harsh and could potentially be negative. I am very aware of that. I always tried to turn those blogs around, though.

Now I’ve seen my blog become more of what I wanted it to be, motivational, informative, and inspiring.


My Blog was never created to be self-indulgent. In all honesty, that is far from my true self. I love helping people. I want to one day be a manager or Director in Design, games, or wherever I end up. I want to Mentor and help people grow. I learned from training and mentoring someone once that I quite enjoyed the process of this, just as I learned from teaching and grew into that role as well.


My blog has sometimes been things made just for me to help my mind process something when it was spiralling or even help me get out of my black hole. I enjoyed the blogs that were about me recounting amazing events like the Ubisoft Forwards or Redfall launch parties. I also quite loved the blogs that were about the design processes and thinking behind things like the Assassin’s Creed UI designs or even the evolution of my personal branding.


I am aware that a few readers look at the blog as a means of getting the scoop on what Brendan is up to. I wouldn’t say it's Gossip. It’s me literally speaking my mind and how I think.

I can’t help but think about the Song Gossip by the Italian Band “Måneskin”

Let’s face it, the truth hurts and I understand some people don’t like that. I’ve seen more great things come from people being honest.


While some people may not like honesty, it is important to recognize that honesty is a crucial part of building trust and maintaining healthy relationships. Honesty allows for open communication and helps to prevent misunderstandings and conflicts. However, some people may be uncomfortable with honesty because it can be difficult to hear feedback or criticism. Additionally, some people may be more sensitive to criticism or may feel threatened by honesty because it challenges their beliefs or sense of self. It is important to approach honesty with sensitivity and to recognize that different people may have different needs and perspectives when it comes to communication.


I have learnt in my career to detach at least a bit. To be brutally Honesty and simply not to care. Like of course I care.


Why though? That doesn’t make sense.


In highly competitive or stressful work situations, emotional distance and unfiltered candour can be advantageous. When results are more important than people, being open and honest can help avoid miscommunication and missteps. It's crucial to keep in mind, though, that this strategy may not be suitable or fruitful in every circumstance. Sometimes, a more cooperative or sympathetic strategy is what’s needed to establish trust and keep partnerships flourishing. Recognise your audience and tailor your response accordingly.


Being emotionally distant and forthright does not mean you do not care. Being truthful and dispassionate is not incompatible with caring for the outcome or the individuals involved. If you want to keep your connections strong, though, you may need to change your approach if people perceive it as careless or insensitive. Honesty and directness may coexist with empathy and collaboration, and striking this balance is key to establishing and maintaining rapport. While I say this, I just believe pussyfooting around the Truth and sugarcoating won't help people. People need to hear the truth. If you don’t hear it now, you may never grow. I’ve been around people who sugarcoat things, and it didn’t help me, and I’ve been around people who ripped me to shreds, which deeply hurt me.


I don’t believe this should be done in a hurtful way; I believe the truth should be a way to heal people.


Let's use an example: when you want to work out and get stronger, your muscles need to tear in order to heal and become stronger.


I can't help but think of another Great Song, Mantra, by the Band Bring Me the Horizon.

I love the chorus of the song.


“Before the truth will set you free, it'll piss you off Before you find a place to be, you're gonna lose the plot Too late to tell you now, one ear and right out the other one 'Cause all you ever do is chant the same old mantra”


This chorus suggests that the truth can be difficult to hear and that it may cause discomfort or anger before it leads to freedom or clarity. It also suggests that finding a sense of purpose or belonging can be challenging and that it may involve a period of confusion or disorientation. The line "too late to tell you now, one ear and right out the other one" suggests that some people may be resistant to hearing the truth or may have difficulty internalizing it. Finally, the line "all you ever do is chant the same old mantra" suggests that some people may be stuck in old patterns of thought or behaviour and may need to break out of these patterns in order to grow and change.


While I believe it’s good to be truthful, it’s also a truth in me to be kind. Kindness and love can go a long way.


Kindness and love are perfectly paired with the truth because they can help to create a safe and supportive environment for honest communication. When we approach others with kindness and love, we demonstrate that we are open, understanding, and non-judgmental. This can help to create a sense of trust and safety, which can encourage others to be honest and open with us. Similarly, when we approach others with the truth, we demonstrate that we are willing to be vulnerable and authentic, which can help to build deeper connections and foster mutual respect. When we combine kindness, love, and truth, we create a powerful foundation for healthy and positive relationships.


Now that seems like you may have gone through a wind tunnel of talks about bluntness and cutthroat but kindness and love.


What the F*ck, Brendan?


Believe it or not, people who truly know or get to know me will eventually know I embody all these qualities. to embody seemingly contradictory traits like bluntness and cutthroat behaviour, as well as love and kindness. These traits may be expressed in different contexts or situations and may reflect different aspects of the person's personality. For example, someone may be blunt and cutthroat in a professional setting, where they need to be assertive and competitive to succeed but may be loving and kind in their personal relationships, where they prioritize empathy and compassion. Alternatively, someone may embody both traits in equal measure, expressing a complex and multifaceted personality. Ultimately, it is important to recognize that people are complex and multidimensional and that seemingly contradictory traits can coexist in the same person.


That is me.


I believe in the concept of duality, and I liked to use both of my sides to help me. As it is just the way I am. I may at times be unbalanced and self-destructive and will doubt myself fully. When in other times I will be kind and see how far I have come.


Long way around to answering the question of why I blog, It is a place for me to share my ideas and literally express what is happening in my life. I have always wanted to keep it as a means of the context of my professional life. I have let it drift into my passions and loves.


Initially, I began this to improve my writing skills. I would express this in a manner similar to that of Alanah Pearce, an Australian video game author and former journalist. She is an inspiration to me personally. She began her YouTube channel to improve her speaking skills on camera. At that time, she would rise to prominence in the Games Industry's Journalism area with companies such as IGN. People tend to forget that she had a blog at the time and that she indicated she would one day work as a video game writer for Santa Monica Studios. Which she now does. She worked on God of War: Ragnarok.


I began my blog to improve my writing, and it has since become a platform for self-expression and idea sharing.


I also used it as a platform from which to detail my career trajectory thus far.


Perhaps I'll launch my own podcast someday. I desire to. It will eventually occur. I'm at a loss for topics to discuss.


My blog is essentially a reflection of myself and my opinions on various topics.


I believe Writing is such a cathartic experience.


“Blogging is a great way to show your talents and interests to prospective employers while adding an edge to your resume. If you blog consistently, it shows your dedication, passions and creativity – all of which are key attributes employers look for in job candidates.” – Lauren Conrad


31 views0 comments
bottom of page