top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrendan Quinlan

Just one step: only getting closer day by day.



"Believe in yourself and all that you are. Know that there is something inside you that is greater than any obstacle." - Christian D. Larson.


It is getting close to my sixth month of job seeking, and I can feel it. Job seeking can be a challenging and stressful process, and it can take a toll on a person's mental health and self-esteem. However, it's important to stay positive, focused, and persistent in your job search. Rejection is a natural part of the job search process, and it's not a reflection of your worth as a person. I continue to Keep networking, developing my skills, and applying for jobs that align with my interests and qualifications.


In my case, I have been applying for jobs in the field of design and not bombarding as many game studios as I used to. As far as I know at this time, it isn’t the easiest, as much as I would love to work in the games industry. I am open to anything creatively fulfilling. My drive is creativity and collaboration.


I applied for 42 jobs today. 42. Let that sink in.


It's difficult to predict the odds of hearing back from the 42 jobs you applied to, as it depends on a variety of factors such as the competitiveness of the job market, the quality of your application materials, and the specific requirements of each job. Remember that the more jobs I apply to, the higher my chances of getting a response.


When it comes to job searching, it's easy to feel discouraged, especially when you're applying to multiple positions with no response. While there's no way to predict the outcome of your job applications, there are ways to increase your chances of hearing back. One way is to stay positive and keep applying for jobs that align with your interests and qualifications. The more jobs you apply to, the higher the likelihood that you'll receive a response. Additionally, it's important to ensure that your application materials are high-quality and tailored to each job you apply for. By staying positive, persistent, and focused on your goals, you can increase your chances of finding the right job for you.


In popular culture, the number 42 is often associated with the book "The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy" by Douglas Adams. In the book, the number 42 is the "Answer to the Ultimate Question of Life, the Universe, and Everything," although the question itself is never revealed. The number has since become a popular cultural reference and is often used to represent the search for the meaning of life. Applying for all 42 jobs today felt like searching for that question.

Because I am a nerd, I decided to investigate the meaning of 42 in other contexts. In angel numbers, Number 42 is made up of a combination of the attributes and energies of numbers 4 and 2. Number 4 brings the vibrations of practical thinking, security, building solid foundations for us and others, inner wisdom and patience, application, and productivity, and resonates with the Archangels. Number 2 relates to receptivity and love, partnerships and relationships, duality, adaptability, faith and trust, service to others, flexibility, balance and harmony, diplomacy, and mediation, understanding, support, and encouragement, and serving your soul mission. Angel Number 42 is a message from your angels about pursuing your passions and life purpose. When you do things, you love and put your heart and soul into achieving your goals, the angels give you guidance and assistance every step of the way.


I know that is very woo-woo but spooky, right? Maybe there is another worldly force guiding my steps, whether it is the universe, Angels, or Elen of the Ways. (In Celtic mythology, Elen of the Ways is a goddess who represents the deer, the woods, and travel. People who travel or seek out spiritual advice often invoke her as a guardian or guide. Additionally, Elen is associated with the notion of sovereignty and the strength of the land. Elen of the Ways is a significant figure in modern pagan and spiritual practices, despite the lack of information about her.) I simply have no idea; maybe we aren’t supposed to.


Maybe I am thinking about the number 42 a little too much. It’s an ungodly number of applications in all honesty that’s what I’ve done today alone. In the past few months, I would be in the hundreds and thousands.



Let me tell you a story from a myth that is very relevant.

Greek mythology's Sisyphus myth. King Sisyphus was cursed by the gods for his dishonest and greedy behaviour. His punishment was to spend eternity pushing a boulder up a hill, just to have it tumble back down again.



The message for job seekers in the myth of Sisyphus is not as grim as it may first appear. Job searchers may feel like Sisyphus, toiling away for no apparent reason. However, keep in mind that each job application and interview is a chance to improve your skills and experience. Jobseekers, like Sisyphus, can finally succeed if they don't give up and keep plugging away at their search.


When progress seems slow or nonexistent, the story of Sisyphus might serve as a reminder to keep your eye on the objective and keep moving forwards.


Did you know who the story was inspired by? Members of the Star Wars fan community might recognise that reference. Darth Maul.



Darth Maul's storyline in The Clone Wars and Rebels was fantastic, and he was a central villain in The Phantom Menace.


Sisyphus and Darth Maul's tales may share certain parallels, but they are not the same. Darth Maul was a Sith Lord and apprentice to Darth Sidious, just as Sisyphus was a monarch in Greek mythology who was punished by the gods for his dishonest and greedy ways.

However, there are certain similarities between the two protagonists. Sisyphus and Darth Maul both had to complete impossible tasks and pay the consequences. Furthermore, both characters were celebrated for their tenacity and resolve in the face of hardship. Despite their differences, the tales of Sisyphus and Darth Maul both teach us the necessity of sticking to our goals no matter how long it takes.


As George Lucas would say “It’s like poetry… it Rhymes


But what is Maul’s Story?


Maul's story can teach us about the dangers of anger and revenge. After being taken from his mother as a child and trained in the ways of the Sith, Maul became consumed with rage and a desire for vengeance against the Jedi. This led him to commit numerous acts of violence and destruction, including the murder of Qui-Gon Jinn.


However, Maul's story also shows us the power of redemption and the ability to change. After being defeated by Obi-Wan Kenobi, Maul went into hiding and eventually re-emerged as a crime lord. However, he later became an unlikely ally to the Jedi and even helped to train a new generation of Force users. Maul's redemption arc shows us that it is never too late to change and that even the most unlikely of characters can find redemption.

Maul's story can teach us about the dangers of anger and revenge, as well as the power of redemption and the ability to change.


Sisyphus, like Darth Maul, was made to do impossible things as a kind of punishment. But no matter what life threw at him, he always came back stronger and more determined than before. Sisyphus may not have been able to break free from his sentence, but his story can teach us the value of perseverance in the face of setbacks.


Also, we may learn a lot about redemption and personal growth from both characters' experiences. Sisyphus may have been redeemed if he had stuck it out and learned from his sins despite being chastised for his dishonest and greedy ways. Darth Maul's redemptive journey demonstrates the same point, demonstrating that even the unlikeliest of characters can undergo a transformation for the better.


We can learn valuable lessons about overcoming adversity, redemption, and self-improvement from the legends of Sisyphus and Darth Maul.


Learning can be found in unexpected places, even if it doesn't appear that way at first.

After I mentioned that I had submitted applications to 42 different jobs over the course of six months, you changed the subject to talk about mythology and the Star Wars saga.

The metaphor of Sisyphus rolling the boulder up the hill rings true for me. Although my body may not be as ripped as Sisyphus', my brain certainly is. Like Darth Maul, I'd like to make something positive out of this situation. Perhaps it's my own Stubbornness, rage, or determination.

My professional life is far from over, and I am eager to keep working. I desire to develop and understand. When I have gained sufficient expertise, I will need to pay it forward by instructing others. I still have more to say.


While others would say I am lazy and not doing anything. I am not lazy, never have been. I understand why you might think that, but I don't believe it's an accurate reflection of who I am. Here are some examples of how I've been productive lately, blog writing, learning unreal engine, drawing, designing, reactivating my ABN, applying for jobs every day, looking after myself and staying sane.


Is that Lazy? No, that is quite productive, to be honest. I’m taking on a variety of tasks and responsibilities. I’m doing what I’ve got to do.


After all this what do I have to look after? Myself.


If I don’t well what would be the point? Point of all of this.


Why did you call the blog post “Just one step: only getting closer day by day.”?

because it suggests that progress is made one step at a time. It's a reminder that even small steps can add up to significant progress over time. Additionally, the phrase "only getting closer day by day" emphasizes the idea that progress is continuous and that even if you're not where you want to be yet, you're still moving forward. Overall, the title is motivational and inspiring and could encourage readers to keep pushing forward towards their goals.


“Practice makes progress.”


So, do you feel like you’re getting closer every day?


From panic to despair to wrath, I've felt it all during my job search. I do think I'm getting there, and I'm resolved to keep moving onward. I could complete this task. To be sure, I can. The networking makes me feel like I'm making great strides even if I don't be getting anywhere. It hasn't produced any fruit yet, but it's well-established, so the seeds within should start to germinate soon. I have faith that everything will work out.


If anything, I say So Mote it be or C’est La vie, to the challenge.


Why?


You might say "So mote it be" if you want to express your agreement or approval of something. The phrase is often used in Wiccan and Pagan circles to signify the completion of a ritual or spell. It can also be used more generally to indicate that you are fully on board with something.

"C'est la vie" is a French phrase that translates to "that's life" or "such is life." You might use it to express acceptance of a situation that you can't change or to indicate that you're not too bothered by something. It's often used in a lighthearted or humorous way and can be a good way to shrug off minor setbacks or disappointments.


Being able to accept that life can be a little sh*t, especially during a job hunt because can help you manage your expectations and reduce stress. When you accept that things won't always go your way, you're less likely to be blindsided by setbacks or disappointments. You're also more likely to be able to bounce back from setbacks because you're not expecting everything to be perfect all the time.


Accepting that life can be tough can help you stay motivated and focused on your goals. When you know that things won't always be easy, you're less likely to give up when things get challenging. Instead, you'll be more likely to persevere and keep working towards your goals, even when the going gets tough.


Accepting that life can be tough can help you develop a more positive and resilient outlook on life. When you know that you can handle whatever life throws your way, you're more likely to feel confident and capable, even in the face of adversity. This can help you build confidence and self-esteem, which can be valuable assets in both your personal and professional life.

I think it's important to keep our spirits up at the end. A hopeless world is one in which its inhabitants feel helpless and defeated. It can cause a person to act in negative ways and feel that their life has no point. Hopelessness, however, can also serve as a stimulus for positive development.


Hope is what keeps me upbeat, motivated, and able to bounce back when life becomes rough. A person's hope for a better future might motivate them to take action that benefits others. There will be times when I feel hopeless, but those times will pass. Inevitably, it reappears. It's like a fire that flares up, dies down to embers, and then reignites, kindling a blazing zeal that propelled me to conquer the globe.


I may be nowhere right now, but I can feel that I will soon be somewhere.


So, Mote it be.


“All that is gold does not glitter, not all those who wander are lost; The old that is strong does not wither, Deep roots are not reached by the frost.” – Gandalf, The Fellowship of the Ring by JRR Tolkien






19 views0 comments
bottom of page