top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrendan Quinlan

Sphinx and the Cursed Mummy: an Underrated Gem



In the spirit of throwing it back, here is my post.


I'd like to discuss a game that doesn't get nearly enough attention:


Developed by Eurocom and published by THQ, the game is called Sphinx and the Cursed Mummy. It came out in 2003 for the PlayStation 2, GameCube, and Xbox.


The action-adventure game Sphinx and the Cursed Mummy takes place in a fantastical version of ancient Egypt. The protagonist of the game is the demigod Sphinx, who is on a mission to defeat the evil god Set. Through a series of levels and puzzles, players must defeat waves of enemies using a wide array of weapons and spells. The game has received acclaim for its stunning visuals, epic story, and ground-breaking mechanics. It was named the best game of 2003 by GameSpot and IGN, among many other accolades.



The mythical creature of the same name that serves as the inspiration for the title character in Sphinx is a nod to Ancient Egyptian mythology and culture. The game takes inspiration from the classic platformer genre and includes numerous puzzles and platforming sections. In addition, the game took cues from the pioneering PlayStation 1 action-adventure titles like Tomb Raider and The Legend of Zelda.


As a kid, I remember trying out a demo of Sphinx and the Cursed Mummy on a disc that came with a copy of PlayStation magazine. Inspired by Mordor, the demo showed Sphinx venturing into the deep land outside of Uruk and looking out over the volcanic landscape surrounding Set's castle, "the castle of Uruk."


During those stages, the player took on the role of the Mummy. a protagonist whose focus is on solving puzzles rather than fighting.


I remember showing the demo to my mother, and she thought it was pretty cool. Besides the Mummy films, you don't get exposed to much Egyptian culture.


Unbeknownst to me, I would eventually obtain the game. I did not follow the industry at the time, as I would not do so until much later.


My recollection is that the game was difficult, but the story was fantastic.


It's the kind of situation where you might need to do some research or just sit on it for a while before you figure it out, the way that sometimes happens when a puzzle isn't immediately obvious.


I think the designers intended for players to have to ponder the answer.


But no matter how old I got, I couldn't resist dusting off my old PS2 and starting a new game.


This title would appear to have a small but devoted cult following. Everyone here has been pleading for a remaster and a sequel.


People in this group love to speculate about what might happen.


As it turns out, the game ended on a rather tense note.


The community enjoys speculating on all of the possibilities.


The game was left on a cliffhanger after all.


I even did a concept design for a potential sequel where I designed a new costume for Sphinx and even came up with a name and a story. The title would be "Sphinx and the Book of the Dead." It would once again feature Sphinx and the Mummy, however, up against the evil Apep, and would follow Sphinx as he tried to help his friend, the mummy. Return to human form by exploring the different realms of the underworld.


It's nice to dream, though.


my original design of sphinx

Can you play it currently?


You can, of course. After the 2017 closure of Eurocom, THQ followed suit. THQ Nordic gave the series new life. Now, you can play Sphinx and the Cursed Mummy in their full glory on Steam and the Nintendo Switch thanks to remastered ports!


You can still play the original Xbox game on your Xbox One, Xbox Series X, or Xbox 360!


The original PS2 game is still in my possession. I just enjoy the switch's convenience.

I would love to get my hands on Sphinx merch now. I wish they would make a Sphinx pop funko!


Did you ever play this? What are some underrated games you believe need more recognition?




8 views0 comments
bottom of page